Students Outside Reading

Activities & Organizations

Get even more out of your HCC experience

The Student Activities department works to support and educate student leaders involved with student organizations. Hopkinsville Community College offers students numerous opportunities to develop their leadership skills, grow as individuals, or learn about a new field or hobby for the pure enjoyment. Student clubs, societies, and organizations enable students to plan, coordinate, market, sponsor and evaluate activities and projects. For more information on student activities and leadership opportunities, contact the Office of Student Engagement at (270)707-3825.

Clubs and Organizations

Organization  Brief Description Advisor(s) and Contact Info 
Ag Tech This organization is geared towards students who are pursuing the Ag Tech AAS degree.

Robert Alexander(270) 707-3894
ralexander0003@kctcs.edu

Baptist Campus Ministries This organization is geared towards students of the Baptist faith, but it is open to any interested students. Barbara Meador
Ted Wilson
(270) 707-3864
ted.wilson@kctcs.edu
Black Men United This group is a support group for African American male students, faculty and staff at HCC.  The group gathers bi-weekly and functions as a support network and discusses topics pertinent to men.  This group also cultivates mentor/mentee relationships and hosts many guest speakers for personal and professional growth.

Tracey Folden
(270) 707-3825
tracey.folden@kctcs.edu

College Democrats This organization is geared towards any student who is interested in the Democratic Political Party. Don Hoover
(270) 707-3873
don.hoover@kctcs.edu
College Republicans This organization is geared toward any student who is interested in the Republican Political Party. Greg Bridgeman
(270) 707-3904
gbridgeman0001@kctcs.edu
Criminal Justice Organization Pi Gamma Epsilon This organization is geared towards students who are pursuing the Criminal Justice AAS degree.  It is a national organization. Greg Bridgeman
(270) 707-3904
gbridgeman0001@kctcs.edu
Donovan    This organization is geared towards any students who are 65 years of age or older. Greg Bridgeman
CJ Newcomb
Dr. Kevin Felton
(270) 707-3877
kevin.felton@kctcs.edu
HKANS This organization is geared towards students who are pursuing any of the nursing AAS degrees.  It is a national organization.

Shannon Little
(270) 707-3849
slittle@kctcs.edu

Hopkinsville Films* About once a month an educational/cultural film is shown.  Open to all students and the public for a small fee. Bernd Sauermann
(270) 707-3890
bernd.sauermann@kctcs.edu
Hoptown Reading Series*  Approximately twice a semester, a local author is invited to campus to do readings on their works.  Open to all students and the public. Brett Ralph
(270) 707-3890
brett.ralph@kctcs.edu
Human Services Organization This organization is geared towards students who are pursuing the Human Services AAS degree.

Dr. Jahrael Burrell
(270)-707-3879
jburrell0008@kctcs.edu

Minority Student Union This organization is geared towards minority students, and any student who has interest in creating and implementing diversity programming. Dr. Vernell Larkin
Aaron Pettus
Roland Butler
(270) 707-3919
roland.butler@kctcs.edu
News and Views Newspaper This is the college’s newspaper staff.  Credit may be earned for those chosen to be members of the staff.  The newspaper is published approximately monthly. Stephanie Holt
(270) 707-3883
stephanie.holt@kctcs.edu
 Phi Beta Lambda  Future Business Leaders of America.

Art Pendleton
Anita Rives
(270) 707-3897
anita.rives@kctcs.edu

Phi Theta Kappa This organization is geared towards HCC’s honors students.  There are academic requirements.  This is an international organization. Phi Theta Kappa website.

Daniel Wilkinson
Pat Riley
(270)-707-3882
Pat.Riley@kctcs.edu

Religion & Philosophy This organization meets every Wednesday afternoon to discuss various topics surrounding religion and philosophy.  These events are open to faculty, staff, students, and community members. Dr. Ken Casey
(270) 707-3884
ken.casey@kctcs.edu
Round Table Magazine An annual publication of HCC which highlights short stories, poetry, artwork, and photography.  Anyone in the area is eligible to submit pieces.  Winners are announced at a ceremony in the Spring Semester. Brett Ralph
(270) 707-3890
brett.ralph@kctcs.edu
Science This organization is geared towards any student who has an interest in the field of biology or any of the sciences.

 Jason Arnold
 (270) 707-3906
 jason.arnold@kctcs.edu

Sister-2-Sister This group is a support group for female students, faculty, and staff at HCC.  The purpose for this group is to gather bi-weekly and function as a support network and discuss topics pertinent to women.  The group also cultivates mentor/mentee relationships and hosts many guest speakers for personal and professional growth.

Tracey Folden
(270) 707-3825
tracey.folden@kctcs.edu 

Student Ambassadors This organization recruits students who are interested in becoming ambassadors for the college to assist with orientations, special events, and dignitaries visiting the HCC campus. Jenny Fleming
Julie Hyams
(270) 707-3824
julie.hyams@kctcs.edu
Student Government This organization is the voice of the students on HCC’s campus.  Elections are held in the Spring Semester for the following year.  Each active student organization is allowed one representative.  Meetings are open to all students.

Pat Hinton
Art Pendleton
Tracey Folden
(270) 707-3825
tracey.folden@kctcs.edu

Veterans Student Organization

This organization is geared towards any students who are military veterans, active duty students, or family members. 

Wayne Rhodes
Janet  Level
(270)-707-3952
Janet.level@kctcs.edu

Weekly Activities

Check out the HCC current events calendar for upcoming campus events such as guest speakers, cultural programs and recreational opportunities.