Spirit Cup Award

The Spirit Cup Award, given annually by the local Alpha Delta Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society, represents a special highlight of the Hopkinsville Community College Commencement ceremonies. The presentation of the Spirit Cup Award at graduation is a tradition that began at Bethel College in 1930 and has continued at HCC. The purpose is to recognize the outstanding graduate of each year's HCC class. The recipient is chosen by a committee of college faculty and staff.


To be eligible for the Spirit Cup Award, the student must:

  • be graduating with an associate degree
  • be actively involved in the college
  • have at least a 3.0 cumulative GPA
  • have demonstrated leadership ability
  • be positive and enthusiastic about HCC


A student may be nominated for the Spirit Cup Award by any college employee. Nomination for the award is by personal letter and should include reasons why the student is deserving of the honor and document how the student meets the eligibility criteria. Letters are sent electronically or through campus mail to the Spirit Cup Committee Chair. Typically, the deadline for nominations is the third week of April each year.

Jim Hunter, Professor of Mathematics (Spirit Cup Committee Chair)
Office: Hopkinsville Campus, Academic Building, Room 136
Phone: (270) 707-3867
Contact: James Hunter

Spirit Cup Recipients

2016 Rickey Cupp
2015 Nathan Phelps
2014 Yadel Gonzalez
2013 Patrick Holland
2012 Carrie Stindt
2011 Carolina Ramirez
2010 Ernest Simmons
2009 Michelle Lynn
2008 Rosa Deason-Moore
2007 Jenaya Perdue
2006 Jessy Lee Denson, Jr.
2005 Lesa Long
2004 Brian Truskey
2003 Margaret Nell Reynolds
2002 Debora Olp
2001 Eric Kennedy
2000 Wendy Barker
1999 Shelly Creekmur
1998 Roshun Meriwether/Stephanie Wilson
1997 Andy Rush
1996 Karen Lamb/Janice Oetken
1995 Faye Schnielle
1994 Debbie Dragoo
1993 Cindy Smith
1992 Chad Williamson
1991 Leigh Ann Hayes
1990 Kathy Turner
1989 Cheryl Durham
1988 Sake Shearl
1987 Mary Beth Joiner
1986 Rubin Jones
1985 Carrie Mason
1984 Jackie Duncan
1983 Gwen Ray
1982 Sandra Westerman
1981 Elizabeth Mann
1980 Cindy McDaniel
1979 Michael Marlow
1978 Sandra Bromley
1977 Terry Ashby
1976 Cynthia Dobbins
1975 Fay Carr
1974 Linda Hicks
1973 Sherry Dunn
1972 Cynthia Fuller
1971 Sherry Chapman
1970 Edwin Wimpy
1969 William Houston Craddock
1968 Nell Lee Gilbreath
1967 Michael Herndon